{ One Delicious Soup a Week } – Mushroom Soup & Mushroom Apple Walnut Tarte ( Pilzsuppe mit Tarte mit Pilzen, Apfel und Walnüssen)

.

.

.

.

.

.

Everyone must take time to sit and watch the leaves turn. ~Elizabeth Lawrence

.

.

 

It is one of those early fall days when you wake up in semi-darkness and the morning starts cozy and quiet. The darkness of the night is thinning only slow and arduous. Grasses, bushes and streets are wrapped up in a misty dress – sleepy and mystical. Gone is the vibrant summer. Fall has – gently, but engaging – taken its place.

Es ist einer dieser ersten Herbsttage, an denen man noch im Halbdunkeln aufwacht und der Morgen gemütlich und ruhig beginnt. Die Dunkelheit der Nacht lichtet sich nur langsam und beschwerlich. Gräser, Büsche und Straßen sind in ein Nebelgewand gehüllt, wirken mystisch und verschlafen. Vorbei ist der quirlige Sommer. Der Herbst hat – sanft, aber einnehmend – seinen Platz erobert. 

Wrapped in a cardigan and a thick scarf I leave the house and make my way to the market. The autumn wind steals the first colorful leaves and blows with a spicy and earthy scent.

The market is in full swing, but I need a hot tea first. From a distance I watch the haggling and talk shop. When I discover plump mushrooms and juicy apples on one of the stands, the main protagonists for my soup are found.

In eine Strickjacke und einen dicken Schal gehüllt verlasse ich das Haus und mache mich auf den Weg zum Markt. Der Herbstwind lässt die ersten bunten Blätter tanzen und weht mir einen würzig- erdigen Duft um die Nase.

Das Treiben auf dem Markt ist schon in vollem Gange, doch ich hole mir erst einmal einen warmen Tee und beobachte aus einiger Entfernung das Feilschen und Fachsimpeln. Als ich an einem der Stände pralle Steinchampignons und saftige Äpfel entdecke, sind die wichtigen Hauptdarsteller für meine Suppe gefunden. 

Back at home, with thick woolen socks on my feet and making my way to the kitchen, the long wooden floorboards creak with every step I take! I love that sound! It has something cosy and comfortable to it. It belongs to Fall as much as a warm soup, a steaming hot tea, candles and crackling wool cuffs on the legs.

By afternoon, the sun has made its way through the dense fog. With scarf and rubber boots on the feet I take a walk with our dog, wandering through the streets and enjoying the warm sun. The wind blows in all directions, tousling my hair and making me shiver a little.

Als ich, zuhause angekommen, mit dicken Wollsocken an den Füßen über die langen Holzdielen in Richtung Küche gehe, knarrt das Holz mit jedem meiner Schritte! Ich liebe dieses Geräusch! Es hat so etwas Heimeliges und Gemütliches. Es gehört für mich zum Herbst dazu wie eine warme Suppe, ein dampfender Tee, knisternde Kerzen und Woll-Stulpen an den Beinen. 

Gegen Nachmittag hat sich die Sonne ihren Weg durch den dichten Nebel gebahnt. Mit Schal und Gummistiefeln an den Füßen laufe ich mit unserem Hund ein wenig durch die Straßen und genieße die warmen Sonnenstrahlen. Der Wind bläst kreuz und quer, zerzaust meine Haare und lässt mich ein wenig frösteln.

A little later, I’m standing with flushed cheeks in my small kitchen – slowly roasting the mushrooms for the soup while raindrops patter against the window again. I could stand  like that for hours. Smelling the earthy scent of hot mushrooms and staring outside the window. I open a bottle of red wine and watch the leaves buzzing around in the autumn air and slowly falling to the ground.

Autumn, you are wonderful …

Wenig später stehe ich mit geröteten Wangen in meiner kleinen Küche und röste langsam die Champignons für die Suppe während Regentropfen mal wieder gegen die Fensterscheibe prasseln. Stundenlang könnte ich hier so stehen. Den erdigen Duft der heißen Pilze in der Nase und den Blick nach draußen gerichtet. Ich schenke mir ein Glas Rotwein ein und beobachte wie die in der Herbstluft umherschwirrenden Blätter langsam zu Boden sinken.

Herbst, Du bist wunderbar…

Tartlets

 

60 g flour

30 g butter

Pinch of salt

Pinch of nutmeg

1-2 tbsp water

1 teaspoon vinegar

2 tbsp crème fraîche

2 large mushrooms

1 apple (Boskop)

Sage leaves

2 tablespoons walnuts (toasted)

Handful of grated cheddar

1 tbsp butter

 

Add small pieces of cold butter to the flour. Rub the mass between your hands and knead until a crumbly dough is formed. Add salt, nutmeg, water and vinegar. Make a marzipan-like dough and put it in the fridge for 1/2. In the meantime, cut the apple and the mushrooms into thin slices. Roll out the dough thinly and put into two greased tart tins. Prick the dough with a fork and then sprinkle with crème fraîche. Season with salt and pepper. Now, drape the apple and mushroom slices on top. Garnish with sage leaves and walnuts. Add the grated cheddar and small knobs of butter. Bake in preheated oven at 200 ° on the second shelf from the bottom for about 25-30 minutes, until golden.

 

Soup

 

1 onion

400 g mixed mushrooms

1 clove of garlic

Cognac

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

500 ml vegetable stock

200 ml cream

2 tablespoons dried porcini mushrooms

Salt / pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Handful of sage leaves, chopped

possibly Créme Fraîche

 

Clean the mushrooms and cut in halve. Fry slowly in a pot so they get even more color and flavor. Now add the onions and fry briefly. Then add the garlic. After a minute, deglaze with brandy and let evaporate. Now add the vegetable stock and cream and leave to simmer for 20 minutes. In the meantime, soak the porcini mushrooms in warm water. Once they are soft add them, along with the soaking water, to the soup and let cook. Now puree the soup with a hand blender. Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg. If the soup is too runny, cook a little longer without the lid. Before serving, garnish with sage leaves and a dollop of crème fraîche.

Comments
8 Responses to “{ One Delicious Soup a Week } – Mushroom Soup & Mushroom Apple Walnut Tarte ( Pilzsuppe mit Tarte mit Pilzen, Apfel und Walnüssen)”
  1. Conny sagt:

    Oh, wie schön! Mir ist warm ums Herz und Magen geworden. Jetzt aber los, ab in die Küche, die Anregungen wollen umgesetzt werden! Vielen, vielen Dank für die Eindrücke, fantastischen Fotos und das wunderbare Rezept!

  2. Die Tarte ist gleich auf meine Nachkochliste geprungen, ganz nach oben.
    Deine Fotos sind ein Traum. :)

  3. Wow. Das hört sich toll an und sieht toll aus. Auch bei mir kommt’s auf die Liste. Ich habe Hunger!

  4. A wonderfully delicious post! The perfect pairing of seasonal dishes- mushrooms and apples go so well together! Thanks for sharing…

    -Shannon

Kommentar verfassen

